The Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI) is in the northern Pacific and consists of 29 low-lying coral atolls with 1,156 individual islands and islets. The Marshall Islands became a republic in 1986. The country has a population of approximately 72,000 people (2015) with 30,000 living in Majuro, the country’s capital.

The Marshall Islands’ hazards and vulnerabilities are linked to both physical and social characteristics of its islands and people, in addition to ongoing unsustainable development practices. Key drivers of the country’s vulnerability include rapid population growth and over-population in urban centres; environmental degradation and unsustainable development; localised pollution including contamination of water supply and waste management issues; climate change impacts including sea-level rise; limited resources (food, water and fuel); and limited economic potential due to its size and location.

The country’s national strategic development plan, Vision 2018 (produced by the RMI Government in 2001), provides an overarching framework for sustainable development. Containing 10 sustainable development goals, Vision 2018 contains strong links to DRM and climate change.

The country’s JNAP was developed in 2010–2011. The JNAP links in with existing strategies, both national and donor led, as well as linking strongly with the National Climate Change Policy which was endorsed in 2011.